Picture of the Day: Ultimate Warrior, Cumberland County Coliseum

ultimatewarrior

This is a road trip fuzzy memory and photo of the day all in one.

Found this picture in the same stack as the snow picture, and it brought back a lot of memories of Saturday morning wrestling (back when Saturday morning was the only day to watch professional wrestling) and a road trip with my brother.

While working at The News of Orange County, I finagled a couple of press passes to the WWF (at the time) event in Fayetteville, N.C. My brother, who was always up for a random road trip, came with me and we experienced our first professional event. It was mainly to see the Ultimate Warrior.

With the exception of The Mighty Igor, The Ultimate Warrior was one of my all-time favorite wrestlers. (I don’t count Andre the Giant, and, to a lesser extent, Hulk Hogan, who both transcended the sport. Nor do I count Ricky Steamboat. Or Rick Flair … Or, well, never mind …) I mean, the Ultimate Warrior was just an awesome spectacle. Who else can make dangly bicep bracelets look cool? He was sculpted (unlike some of the other wrestlers of the time), and he was just wild … his signature move was a Running Splash, usually preceded by a Gorilla Press Drop (gasp — not the Gorilla Press Drop!!!). He was a mad man … but what did you expect? He did herald “from parts unknown.”

This picture is taken before the match, at the beginning of his trademark mad dash to the ring. I remember thinking as I took it, “He looks shorter than he does on TV.”

Alas, such is life.

The event was around 1990 or 1991. If anyone out there can tell me more about the time period, I’d like to hear it. I don’t really remember who the Warrior fought, or who else was on the card, although there are three other pictures that have survived the years.

ultimate 2

This is one of the Warrior’s match. I don’t know who the opponent is.

 

jakethesnake

I’m pretty sure this is legendary wrestler Jake “The Snake” Roberts. Again, I don’t know who the opponent is.

 

gregthehammer

I faintly the remember the face guy (not the name, of course), but I’m pretty sure the guy against the turnbuckle is Greg “The Hammer” Valentine.

Any help with the time period, the names or the wrestlers and any other information would be greatly appreciated, wrestling fans (and you know who you are!).

This was the only professional wrestling match I attended. Of course, I’m not counting the one where I was the referee. But that’s a different fuzzy memory altogether!

4 thoughts on “Picture of the Day: Ultimate Warrior, Cumberland County Coliseum

  1. The pictures of Warrior is either from 89 or 90. By April of 1990 he was no longer the IC Champ but World Champ.
    Looks likes Warrior fought Dino Bravo, Greg “The Hammer” Valentine fought “Rugged” Ronnie Garvin and Jake is in the ring with Virgil (DiBiase’s guy) I think?

    I hardly ever leave comments on blogs, but that top picture of Warrior is awesome. Just look at the kids! They seem so happy and more importantly – inspired. I really don’t think kids feel like that anymore when they watch wresting. I myself haven’t watched the product since 2000. But the best years were 1987 – 1992, the Golden Era. And no one ever came close to the Ultimate Warrior.

    Thank you for posting these pictures!

    Take a watch at Warrior’s Tribute to the “Macho Man” Randy Savage. It’s very nice.

    • Thanks for commenting and clearing up the fuzziness! The Ultimate Warrior definitely made an impact and, I agree, those years were the Golden Era of wrestling.

      Thanks again!

  2. To follow up on Ernest’s post, it was late 1989.

    http://www.thehistoryofwwe.com/89.htm

    WWF @ Fayetteville, NC – Cumberland County Memorial Arena – December 2, 1989
    Jim Neidhart defeated the Brooklyn Brawler
    Earthquake defeated Brian Jepson
    Hercules defeated Sandy Beach
    Greg Valentine defeated Ron Garvin
    WWF IC Champion the Ultimate Warrior defeated Dino Bravo
    The Bushwhackers defeated Nikolai Volkoff & Boris Zhukov
    Jake Roberts defeated Ted Dibiase via disqualification

Leave a Reply

