Free mp3: Ruby Velle and the Soulphonics


 

Came across this solid neo-soul from Atlanta’s Ruby Velle and the Soulphonics as a “free music from rising artists” download at Amazon.

There have been comparisons to Amy Winehouse, though I wonder if many of those are comparing the swooped hair and not just the music, which seems to run a tad more classic than Winehouse.

I’m not sure what it is about this sound that seems to be a solid download. Maybe I’ve surrounded myself with enough rock-n-roll that whenever I come across something like this it sounds fresh and retro. (After all, it worked with Kylie Auldist.)

Then again, maybe I shouldn’t try to psychoanalyze myself so much, I pay someone else enough to do that. Maybe I should just sit back and enjoy it.

Maybe you should, too. What have you got to lose? After all, it’s free.

Leave a Reply

