Thrift store find: The Story of Daniel Boone

The local library book sale had a few gems the other day during a half-price sale, including this throwback from 1953: The Story of Daniel Boone, by William O. Steele, illustrated by Warren Baumgartner.

Daniel Boone was a television show I caught in the afternoons after school, so I was extra excited to grab this edition. I’m not sure why I get so attached for things from my childhood. Maybe it’s because in this ever-changing digital age, our personalities are constantly under flux and I, for one, need reminders of where I came from. But I’m sure a therapist could tell me for sure.

The Daniel Boone book is part of the Grosset & Dunlap Signature Series, which were published in the 1950s and 1960s. There were 51 books in the series.

There were three other books from the series in the sale:

  • The Story of General Custer (1954), by Margaret Leighton, illustrated by Nicholas Eggenhoffer;
  • The Story of Crazy Horse (1954) by Enid LaMonte Meadowcroft, illustrated by William Reusswig; and
  • The Story of Geronimo (1958)by Jim Kjelgaard, illustrated by Charles Banks Wilson.

Obviously, I snatched them up quickly, giggling all the while. Each of the volumes are in good condition and the binding is pretty tight.

Inside each of the flaps is an illustration highlighting the key events in the protagonists’ life. That may explain the good binding after all of these years, because if the owner was anything like me, just looking at the inside flap was enough for a book report.

Because of the half-off sale, the four books cost 50 cents. Together. If you’re a book enthusiast, you can see why I was excited.

Anyone ever read these books? Anyone have more of the set?

(And just for kicks and giggles, let’s end with this):

3 thoughts on “Thrift store find: The Story of Daniel Boone

  1. Hi, I just found your site after doing a search for a book from my childhood about Crazy Horse and based on the cover, I think The Story of Crazy Horse may be it. Is there any chance you can upload images from inside the book? Thanks!

    • Did you have any in mind? I haven’t looked at it in quite a while. Message me specifics, OK?

      Thanks for stumbling onto the site!

      • Hi, thanks for getting back to me! OK, there is one vague image that’s burned into my inner 1st grader’s memory: Crazy Horse and another warrior are crouched on a large boulder, looking over the edge — it may in fact, be an expanded scene from the cover of the book, which is why I thought to ask you about it. I can’t remember what they were looking at specifically, only that I hoped that Crazy Horse got ’em.

Leave a Reply

