Car Rental Soundtrack: Lexington to Cincy

Took a quick trip north to see some family, so I threw together the obligatory Car Rental Soundtrack. It’s been a long time since I’ve gotten to rent a car, so it was fun to put together.

You know what I found out? Even my attempts to be unpredictable are a little, well, predictable. Here’s the lineup and notes:

  1. City On Our Knees, tobyMac. I heard the chorus the other day and thought it sounded nice. Then the verses came … and, well, I still like the chorus.
  2. Impossible, Anberlin. I have no reason why I put this on the CD other than the fact that I don’t remember hearing it before (even though iTunes tells me the last time it played was June 13).
  3. Wrong, Archers Of Loaf. I picked this song because I got tired of putting “Web in Front” on all the others.
  4. You Ain’t Alone, Alabama Shakes. The band of the uber-moment. I did a free mp3 post on them, and then heard them on Sound Opinions. I think they may sound better live than on disc.
  5. I Gotta Feeling, Black Eyed Peas. You know, for kids.
  6. Burnt Biscuits, Booker T. & The MG’s. This is to cleanse the palate of the last track.
  7. You Can Finally Meet My Mom, Train. Sure, the title is dumb, but I think I finally figured out what this song means. Now I’m trying to figure out why he didn’t say “Harvey Korman.” (those who know, know).
  8. Mercy, Counting Crows. This is from Counting Crows’ cover album, which sounds a lot cooler than it really is.
  9. Where I Want To Be, The Dangerous Summer. Don’t know where I picked this one up, but included it because, well, I don’t know where I picked this one up …
  10. Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots Part 1, The Flaming Lips. The best part is hearing my special lady friend say, “What the heck are we listening to?” Plus, it’s got a beat you can dance to.
  11. Tongue Tied, Grouplove. This song makes me smile.
  12. Been Caught Stealing, Jane’s Addiction. Honestly, when’s the last time you heard this song?
  13. Don’t Stop Believin’, Journey. Honestly, the exact opposite of the last track.
  14. I Am Free, Newsboys. A curveball.
  15. Dirty Paws, Of Monsters And Men. I want to like this band, really, I do … but find it hard to venture past the first track.
  16. My Body, Young The Giant. Tap your feet. You know you want to.
  17. Why Don’t You Find Out for Yourself, Morrissey. The patron saint. “The Sanest Days are Mad” is going to be the title of my memoirs.
  18. Temptation (New Order Cover), Jukebox the Ghost. Love the original. Love the cover. Love it with all my green eyes and my blue eyes and my grey eyes …
  19. Harder Than You Think, Public Enemy. I think I actually heard this on an ESPN advertisement. Discovering music is the new reason I watch television.

There you have it. Reactions? Improvements? Suggestions?

And … if anyone rents an Enterprise car from the Lexington airport, this is for you. Hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

