Thrift store find: Catcher in the Rye

Maybe I’m getting my Conspiracy Theory on …

Found this little beauty for a quarter at the local library and was struck by its simplicity (the back cover is the same as the front!) and by the character — the wrinkles, the missing bottom corner … where’s this book been?

It’s been around for a while. This is a Bantam Book edition, the 22nd printing from 1963. I guess for being almost 50 years old, a few wrinkles are to be expected. At least I hope so.

I remember reading this book once. Maybe this is just a fuzzy memory, but I don’t think it changed my life. However, my expectations may have hindered my experience. It’s a book that seems like it should be in every library, and, for a quarter, I just added it to mine.

Anyone else have a good book find lately?

Back cover … same as the front.

Leave a Reply

