Nerd news: Matias Streb sketch card

Pulled this beautiful sketch card from a Marvel’s Greatest Heroes (2012) trading card box at one of my favorite nerd stores.*

*(Key phrase: “one of”)

The Brazilian artist Martin Streb drew the card. I really don’t know too much about him, other than the bits and pieces I found online. I know he’s on deviantART, but hasn’t been for long.

The card is a picture of Namor the Sub-Mariner. All I know about the Sub-Mariner is that he isn’t Aquaman … and he had an affair with the Invisible Woman … but that’s a story for another time. I don’t really follow the ocean comics … maybe since I’m not a good swimmer. After all, I’d hate to drown myself (snicker, snicker …) in all that back story … (snicker, snort …)

Anyway, this is one of the better-detailed sketches I’ve pulled and I’m pleased as punch to get it. But can anyone tell me about Mr. Streb?. I mean, how many did he draw for the set? What else has he done? I’ve seen about 20 different ones online and such … but I’d like to know more about the artist.

 

3 thoughts on “Nerd news: Matias Streb sketch card

  1. thank you very much
    I have posted several cards in facebook
    including this card Namor, blunt!
    thank you very much

Leave a Reply

