Busted for being the poser that I am

Found myself in the checkout line at the local library Saturday, sporting my $3.99 Gap Outlet Green Lantern tee.

I handed my books and CD to the librarian.

“I see you’re wearing the shirt,” he said with a grin, “but do you know the oath?”

“Uhhh,” I muttered, “To protect and serve … ?”

He cut me off, and, not looking at me, shuffled through the stack of books and spoke:

“In brightest day, in blackest night, no evil shall escape my sight. Let those who worship evil’s might, beware my power: Green Lantern’s light.”

He smiled.

“And,” he added, “these are due back April 21.”

Busted.

So here’s where Nerd Ethics come to play: Should I not wear the shirt again until I learn the oath, or find a new library?

3 thoughts on “Busted for being the poser that I am

  1. Okay, Prof. Tim, here’s how you one-up him.

    If someone ever asks you that again, you string together about 6 sentences of gibberish while staring straight ahead. Never break eye contact. When done, look to the floor, as if to say “scene”.

    If they say “that’s not the oath”, then you give a slight smirk and reply-
    “Not in Sector 2814, it isn’t.”
    For good measure, call him a poozer.
    (Drop mic)
    (walk away)

    • Ha-Ha! Awesome! Thanks for the advice and thanks for reading/commenting!

      You rock! (and not just in Sector 2814, either!)

  2. Pingback: News flash: I’m an idiot | The 10-Minute Ramble

Leave a Reply

