Struggling to suspend the disbelief

OK … I read comics, implying that there’s a fair ability to suspend disbelief and just go with it … but, even I have trouble reading this one with a straight face.

So, this guy survives a bank robbery, lies in a coma AND is struck by lightning? (Or is it survive a bank robbery, then struck by lightning, then the coma?) Either way, you don’t want to stand near this guy. (By the way, I read the Wikipedia entry on this guy … it didn’t help my disbelief)

Is this what it takes to become a superhero these days? I mean, all the Hulk had to do was get shot full of gamma rays. All Spider-Man had to do was get bit by a spider. All Captain America had to do was sit in a tanning booth. All Wolverine had to do was have his marrow replaced with the adamantium. Ok … that one would suck.

What would you put up with to eventually become a superhero?

If I had to wait an extra 10 minutes at Starbucks for an overpriced latte while I surfed the Internet, what kind of Superhero does that make me? My guess: Cliche Man.

Leave a Reply

