As if we needed another reason …

As if we needed another reason to be wary of Weezer … there’s this cover of The Cars‘ “You Might Think” they did for the Cars 2 soundtrack.

OK, I get it: you want a “hip” band reinterpreting a hit from the 1980s to make it modern and accessible for a whole new audience.

But here’s the thing: Weezer’s version isn’t a reinterpretation: it’s a straight cover.

OK, OK, I get it: it’s an homage; the original is so good that doing anything else to it would ruin it.

Right, but here’s the OTHER thing: if you’re going to pay someone to produce a new version of an old song that sounds EXACTLY LIKE THE OLD SONG … why not use the old song?

The Cars just released a new album in May. Don’t you think they could use the push?

Oh well … at least it sounds like the original … even if the original does have dated graphics …

3 thoughts on “As if we needed another reason …

  1. Well and to continue the “new, modern band” thought….Weezer, while being cool and hip, aren’t exactly new and cutting edge either. I think someone just loved Weezer and wanted them to do the song. Am I wrong? Am I wrong?

  2. No … of course you’re not wrong. Of course, my favorite Weezer song is from the Yo Gabba Gabba 2 soundtrack, so that’s how cutting edge I am!

    Thanks for reading!

  3. I couldn’t agree more. I don’t even think this cover/homage isn’t that good. So why not use the original? Unless whoever owns the current rights to the song wouldn’t allow it (which likely isn’t the case), I think there must be some unwritten rule where you can’t use a song like that unless it is set in a period movie, like American Psycho that was set in the 80s. But what do I know.

Leave a Reply

