The ugliest shoes in the closet

This can possibly be chalked up to a short-lived but impactful “Fresh Prince” phase of my fashion life.

If my fuzzy memory is correct, these shoes were purchased, on clearance, from a shoe store in a mall in Charlotte, N.C., which would  put them circa 1993-ish. And though I haven’t worn them that much, these shoes have survived three yard sales and countless closet purges.

For some reason, they remain.

But I want to know more about them. Here’s what I know:

  • they are Converse
  • they say “Made in the U.S.A.” (which definitely puts it at pre-2000, according to this site)
  • they are colorful

That’s about all I know. Anyone else out there have a pair of these? Anyone know about them?

Are these shoes ugly … or just homely?

If you have information (or an opinion), please ramble about it in the comment section.

3 thoughts on “The ugliest shoes in the closet

  1. It was a smart move keeping them. They’re too good to get rid of.
    Not only are they a strong reminder of your roots, but they’re historical.
    Most importantly, they serve as a warning for what could have been. 😉
    Those are amazing relics from our pop culture past. Definitely keepers.

    • I don’t know why I can’t get rid of ’em … I always think there’s going to be an occasion where I’ll need loud shoes. That’s just how my mind works.

      Thanks for commenting … and the support!

  2. Pingback: A new ugly? | The 10-Minute Ramble

Leave a Reply

