Who drew this sketch card?

Got this sketch card yesterday from a Marvel Heroes & Villains box.

What I like about this sketch card over some of the others I have is that it actually looks like someone sat down and drew it … not designed it on a computer. I don’t know if that means the other artists are mechanically proficient or if this artist was just in hurry … either way, I like this one. A lot. Of course, the Hulk may have something to do with that.

So the card’s cool, but I think there’s a problem: there seems to be no signature.

There seems to be a “J” in the bottom left corner, right where the neckline is. And possibly the arm of an “R.” If you click on the card, a larger version will show. However, it is mixed in with the Spider-Man costume, so I can’t be sure.

And you know what that means, don’t you? Exactly. Google.

Based on what I found, the best candidate seems to be Joe Rubinstein. Why? Well, I found this sketch card:

The similarities between the Spider-Man nose and, most notably, the similarities of format make me think my card is by the same artist. Plus, the “J” and possible “R” fit. If I’m reading the website that posted this correctly, it is Rubinstein.

But I want to know for sure. Can anyone confirm?

Card back

 

One thought on “Who drew this sketch card?

Leave a Reply

