Dude on the cover of a DC Comic?

Trolling through one of my comic haunts the other day and spied the DC Universe Halloween Special 2010 and my eye was drawn …

Right there, right behind Batman and being grabbed by some non-Wonder Woman Wonder Woman was a Dude and Valkyrie Maude. It’s the illustration that really ties the cover together.

Hmmmm … the accompanying 6-story comic has no other references to The Big Lebowski or The Dude, as far as I can tell. It’s a mystery that needs a strict regimen in order to keep the mind limber … lotta ins, lotta outs, lotta what-have-yous …

But that’s just, like, my opinion, man.

The cover is by Gene Ha (though I couldn’t find a Lebowski reference on his site either).

This is the first time I have seen TBL appear in an “official” publication the weight of DC Comics. Maybe that “Great Comics That Never Happened” could happen after all.

It sure would make me laugh to beat the band …

2 thoughts on “Dude on the cover of a DC Comic?

  1. I haven’t read the comic, but I imagine the plot involves our heroes coming to the rescue of patrons at a Halloween costume party. Those two are patrons dressed as the Dude and Maude… a very popular choice around the country every year. I imagine the writer or the illustrator has seen that himself or is a big fan of the film.

Leave a Reply

