Discovering a Bob Dylan cover

I don’t know what it is, but lately I’ve been digging into the pre-gospel, post-quartet music days of Mylon LeFevre.

Though I’ve poked fun at it from time to time, most of what I’ve found has been pretty solid 70s rock/southern rock. I wonder if, after all these years, a whole lifestyle ago, he ever goes back and listens. I wonder what he thinks of it. I wonder if he’s ever thought of performing it again (Al Green went back to do his old stuff, didn’t he?)

Anyway, the opening track of his 1972 album Over the Influence includes this cover of Bob Dylan’s “Mama You Been On My Mind.” The song has been covered by a bevy of performers, as noted in this great post, from Baez to The Beatles to Johnny Cash to Jeff Buckley (and countless others).

However, I really like this version. It’s simple. It’s straightforward. It’s honest. It should rank right up there with all the others. But, alas, if you’re like most people, you’re like “Mylon who?

For the record, this isn’t the only Dylan that Mylon covered. He released a version of “Girl from the North Country” on 1977s Weak at the Knees. You know … the album where he’s lookin’ all frilly

Anyway, just wanted to share the music and see what you think.

Leave a Reply

