Off-topic movie review: The Social Network

This begs the question: Is Facebook just some arm of Project Mayhem?

Saw The Social Network recently and while I didn’t delete my Facebook account because of it, the film did what it was supposed to do: it made me hate Mark Zuckerberg. It also made me wonder if his jerky manner is just Asperger’s syndrome, as if Asperger’s is the societal excuse du jour to be rude.

It also made me ponder a bigger question: Where does David Fincher fit in the personal pantheon of film directors?

If you are male (and possibly female) and of a certain age, Fight Club and/or Se7en are in your DVD collection. Many of Fincher’s films have a certain “feel” to them. It’s hard to define, but it’s something about the color of the film (which provides nonverbal cues as to mood) and pacing (which sometimes tend to be a little long and intentional).

If that’s the case, I’d place him somewhere around Michael Mann.

But, for some reason, I’d place him near Christopher Nolan, too. Nolan seems to make “big” films that pack a punch.

So, there you have it. Let’s place Fincher somewhere between Michael Mann and Christopher Nolan.

Now … let’s rank the films (I didn’t include Fincher-directed projects like George Michael, Madonna, and Aerosmith video collections, which, of course, would trump any of these films. Or not).

  1. Fight Club
  2. Se7en
  3. Zodiac
  4. The Game
  5. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
  6. The Social Network
  7. Panic Room

What are your rankings?

6 thoughts on “Off-topic movie review: The Social Network

    • Thanks for commenting!

      Inception is a Christopher Nolan film … these are David Fincher films.

      But it’s an interesting question. Where would you rank it?

  1. Oh, sorry, I though you were ranking movies by your personal likings.
    Well, alliance Fincher-Sorkin is definitely working well.
    The Social network presumably deals with the “real” world, while Inception takes us to the unconsciousness and dreams and fantasy. Meanwhile, both movies talk about one big human feeling – guilt. Zuk feeling guilty about the girl and the friends, and Leo Di Caprio guy is guilty about his wife.
    Guilt – that what pushes us in life. The most powerful feelings – guilt and fear, and both Fincher and Nolan exploit them well.

  2. Really, it ranks below Benjamin Button? I love Sorkin, like to the hilt, so I will probably rank this pretty high, if I ever get to go see it. I’ve been on the fence with Fincher ever since I was scarred at an early age by The Game. I think if I revisited it, though, I’d enjoy it. Never fell in love with Fight Club and Seven hasn’t aged real well for me, although the cinematography is top notch. I hated Benjamin Button, no way around it…but I will say I enjoyed Zodiac a good deal more than expected. It stretched a bit long and thin, but I would probably put it on top of my Fincher list, at least until I see this new one. Did I mention I love Sorkin?

  3. Pingback: Off-topic movie review: The Social Network (redux) | The 10-Minute Ramble

Leave a Reply

