Off-topic book review

Less than Zero = WORST. CHRISTMAS. BREAK. EVER.

Earlier this year, I rewatched (and wrote about) the movie Less than Zero. It’s one of those movies that made me want to read the book. In a good way.

Well, I finally did. And, yes, in case you’re wondering, the book is better. But in a different way.

For example, the plot is different. Way different. As in “Robert-Downey-Jr.-doesn’t-die-and-Jamie-Gertz-stays-in-L.A.” different.

Though I could see the faces of the main actors as I read the story, the book forced me to put them in totally new situations. It also forced me to come up with new faces for new characters, like Trent and Daniel and Kim and Alana and Spin and Chris and, etc.

For all of them, I just imagined that they looked kind of like this:

or

or

just to keep it simple. The book’s set in the 80s, so any of those could be a guy or a girl.

The book is a quick read (it took me less than a week) and carries a haunting narrative detachment that reminds me of my favorite book by Douglas Coupland, which is interesting since Bret Easton Ellis has been called one of the greatest writer of Generation X … and Coupland wrote the book Generation X.

Anyway, if you have a week and a high curiosity of sex, drugs, and apathy, check it out.

Of course, if you’re that much into apathy, it may be hard to motivate yourself to do so. In that case, check out the book’s Wikipedia page and then ACT like you read it.

Leave a Reply

