Free mp3: Tony Lucca

Stumbled across this gem when I downloaded the free Songs from Hotel Carolina 2010 at Amazon. It’s the lead track, but the link takes you to the whole sampler. Not since I lucked out on Bob Schneider’s “40 Dogs” have I grinned so smartly. It’s got that same acoustic/funk/lyrical-olympics that bobs the head.

Now, as Dr. Doofenshmirtz would say, the backstory …

Why did I download the thing in the first place?

I have no idea who Tony Lucca is, or what Songs from Hotel Carolina is … though at the time I assumed it had something to do with North Carolina, especially the Triangle area where I’m from. In that part of the country, when you say “Carolina,” you’re talking about THE University of North Carolina.

I also wondered if it had anything to do with the Carolina Theater, which, if you remember, is the place I saw the Talking Heads film Stop Making Sense.

But … it’s neither. I guess Hotel Carolina refers to an August music festival in South Carolina. Though my story would’ve been more satisfying.

And I still don’t know much about Tony Lucca, other than what Wikipedia tells me (and now, you can be told too!). He is a former Mousketeer and I can totally appreciate a man who can rock a hat!

Anyway, download the song … if you’re really daring, get the whole sampler while it’s free. It’s worth it … and I don’t mean in some sarcastic “It’s-worth-it-because-it’s-free” sense either.

Leave a Reply

