‘Iron Man 2’ sketch card

(Before reading, take note: Nerd Alarm.)

Opened a pack of Iron Man 2 trading cards this morning (much to my wife’s chagrin, this is one of many little hobbies) and lo and behold, I found this:

I have no idea what it means. The card isn’t glossy, but more of a matte/card finish, possibly so it can be drawn on. That begs the question: Is this a “real” hand-drawn sketch by some artist named “Mack”? Who is this “Mack” guy anyway? How many of these are there (my card says 1/1)? I found a related article on this website called Collector’s Quest, but it doesn’t mention my guy or give a list of how many sketch cards there are.

I guess me and Google have some research to do, BUT, if anyone else can shed some light on this, I’d appreciate it. I’d say stay tuned, but, to be honest, I’ll probably forget and never mention this again.

8 thoughts on “‘Iron Man 2’ sketch card

  1. “Mack” is David Mack. Comic artist/writer. Most famous for his creator-owned work “Kabuki”. He’s also had a few stints on Daredevil.

    I actually found this article via his Twitter feed (@davidmackkabuki). He said:

    “Congrats on the card 🙂 RT @ProfTim: ‘Iron Man 2’ sketch card? What the heck? http://wp.me/pl98l-Df

  2. Wow. Don’t know David Mack and you complain? The set was lousy to begin with and only about 1 out of maybe every30 artists from UD are any good and you pull a David Mack. 99 percent of the collectors out there should be so lucky.

    • Thanks for the comment. I didn’t mean to sound like I was complaining, though … in my ignorance, I never figured I’d get a hand-drawn anything. That’s the “What the heck?” part of it.

      Thanks for reading!

  3. You are one lucky devil! David Mack is not only a fantastic artist, but also a really nice guy, something you don’t always find in the comics industry. Congrats on pulling the card!

  4. Pingback: Another ‘Iron Man 2′ sketch card? « The 10-Minute Ramble

Leave a Reply

