This song reminds me of Nick Horby

Well … I guess the title of the post gives away the point, but I’ve rediscovered Billy Bragg’s “A New England” over the past six to eight months and the more I listen to it, the more it reminds me of a Nick Hornby novel.

Why?

Not sure, really. I was introduced to this song by a mix tape from high school “bff” Jan Woods, who sent it to me while we in college. She’s gone now, but this song will help her live forever.

But why Nick Hornby?

Maybe it’s his “kid’s” book Slam, whose mid-teen protagonist gets a girl pregnant (she’s “already pushing prams”). To be honest, I had to look up the word “pram” to fully understand it … so, it’s an educational song, too.

Or, maybe it’s the line where “I put you on a pedestal/I put you on the pill.” There’s something to dryly poetic about it that makes me think of Hornby.

Or, maybe it’s because he’s English and Nick Hornby is about the only English author I read. Yes, I am that shallow.

Either way, it’s a cool song, whether this is your first time or you millionth. And if it makes me think of old friends and reading, well, it can’t be that bad, can it?

Do you have a song that makes you think of an author?

Leave a Reply

