September is “A Love Supreme” month

a-love-supremeRecently I decided that I was going to listen to John Coltrane’s A Love Supreme every day for the month of September. I’m not exactly sure why and that’s part of the reason I’m doing it.

I don’t know a lot about jazz. My limits are Duke Ellington’s “Take the A Train,” and Vince Guaraldi’s “Charlie Brown Christmas.” What intrigues me most and why I probably am doing this stems from the fact that there’s a Coltrane Church. Any album that makes people start a church should make all of us stop and notice. This month, I’ll try to figure out what it is about the album that can make this happen. (Who knows, maybe next month, I’ll spend watching the Star Wars saga and ponder Jedi …)

I won’t read any outside articles about the album, so as to avoid any undue influence. I’ll use the liner notes, sure, but most of the “insights” or “conclusions” will come solely from my experience with the music. I’ll write about them as the month progresses.

I realize this is a “Julie and Julia” kind of thing, but, heck … this could still be interesting. The key word, of course, is “could.”

Anyway, here’s a clip.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “September is “A Love Supreme” month“, posted with vodpod
4 thoughts on “September is “A Love Supreme” month

  1. Pingback: The thing about jazz … « The 10-Minute Ramble

  2. Pingback: Original vs. Alternate: Most of the Time « The 10-Minute Ramble

  3. Pingback: The weary sadness « The 10-Minute Ramble

Leave a Reply

