Music hardly heard, Vol. 1: The Prayer Chain

The older I get, the more I realize I’ll never hear all the music there is to hear. If you have ever felt this way, I offer you: one of the greatest bands of the 1990s: The Prayer Chain.

If you’ve heard this album or of this band, you’re in a small, elite fraternity.

prayer_shawlI played this album, the band’s second, constantly throughout the summer of 1993. I was hooked the first time I heard it. I was given a copy of the cassette, wore that out, and then graduated to CD, where it still resides in my collection. I can still pop this music into my player and not be embarrassed if others are riding in the car with me. (For an overview of the band, go here or here.)

It reminds me of several things:

  • Trips to Atlanta and a good friend Laura Gondolfo;
  • Red-headed Erik from Notebored magazine (R.I.P.), one of the coolest guys I’ve ever met, and who gave me the cassette;
  • A trip to Charleston, S.C. with my brother;
  • Concord, N.C., and that whole time of my life.

There, that’s my random music offering to you. Hope you like it. What kinds of music that’s hardly heard would you like to share?

One thought on “Music hardly heard, Vol. 1: The Prayer Chain

  1. another trip with a primer. Remember how we used to listen to everything the band had ever done on the way to the concert? now we need to plan one of those pilgrimmages for the Pomegranates. good times

Leave a Reply

