Another sign of the Apocalypse?

more about “Another sign of the Apocalypse?“, posted with vodpod

As if we needed another sign of the Apocalypse, I just heard U2′s Wide Awake in America version of “Bad” as a backdrop for a NASCAR commercial on FOX.

Let’s get a few things straight:

  • I am a U2 fan.
  • I’m not opposed to musicians using their music for commercial reasons in order to gain exposure and, well, a few extra bucks.

But this? This song is part of what I would consider the “canon” … the Holy Words. This would be akin to, oh, I don’t know, using the Bible to sell something inane like mints …

Huh? What? They already do that?

Oh, so the Apocalypse has already happened then. Well … this is awkward. Never mind, I guess.

Enjoy this version of “Bad” as I remember it as we gleefully fill the handbasket to, well … you know …

By the way, I couldn’t find the commercial on You Tube, so, you’ll have to find it yourself.

Leave a Reply

